Walther Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally recieved the permission to buy a P99 from my wife. (money is tight because I am a poor college student, and we just finished paying for law school applications). Anyways I wanted some opinions on what I should get. I love the TI slide but will go with black because I do want the gun for practical reasons as well as a fun shooter. I may want to carry it, but I have a very reliable sw .357 snub to use if I get the ccw. I am 6'5'' and slender (muscular 180) and need to know if I can conceal a full sized on myself without any real problems. Or should I go with a compact. My wife is 5'11'' ish and she may shoot it too so I was gonna get a 9mm. Also with the ban expired the extra rounds are nice for the full size. So let me hear your opinions. What is your build, and the size you carry. For those who have shot both, does the full size shoot much better because of the weight, or does it matter that much. And finally, I am looking for the least financially damaging way of purchasing this, so if you know of a good buy let me know. Thanks for reply's in advance.
Wagemage

·
Registered
539 Posts
My wife is 5'5" and shot my 40 a few weeks ago without much trouble. It was her first time shooting *ever* and she did great. Pick the caliber you really want, not the one you think your wife can handle. Go to a range and rent a 40 caliber plastic gun like a Glock or XD if they don't have a P99 handy. Recoil will be comparable. Use heavy ammo (180 Gr) to feel the highest recoil that gun can generate. You can always decide to plink lighter later.

I would think that besides your body shape your clothing style is very important when determining what you can conceal. As is your willingness to put up with discomfort. I wear jeans/sweater/polo 99% of the time so concealment would be tough. If you wear a jacket you could carry a 5" barrel 1911