Walther Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After seeing all of the posts about holsters, I am on the verge of purchasing the Blade Tech IWB holster for my P99AS. All of the discussion got me thinking about how and when we really carry guns. Even with my permit, carrying weapons at my place of employment is strictly forbidden. How "just" that policy is, is a discussion for another time. Even though I disagree with it, if it bothers me that much, then I either have to work around it or start my own company where such feeble minded ideas are not the rule. But, like most of us, I work for a living and this is one of many minor injustices that we all are faced with in the real world.

Now, since I carry in my car to work, but I can't bring it into my office, I am faced with the proposition of leaving a gun unattended in my car. With my G26, I have simply been removing the slide and taking the entire upper unit and magazine into my office with me. If someone breaks into my car, all they will find is a Glock 26 frame (and some Tom Waits CDs). Now there is a policy against knives as well, but I always have my Cold Steel Voyager clipped to the inside of my pants, so I guess I am being hypocritical to some degree. The issue is that sometimes, there are real decisions to be made about carrying. Has anyone experienced a similar problem, and how did you address it?

Caspian

·
Registered
109 Posts
Unfortunately, laws that prohibit the carrying of weapons target the innocent, not the criminals. As law abiding citizens, we are compelled to follow the law. There are some grey areas regarding conflicts of law and business policy, but we are also compelled to follow policies lest our employment be terminated. Following the rules is all that law abiding citizens can do - and join the NRA, vote for pro-gun candidates, write letters to the ditor, and let you voice be heard so you can be an agent of change.