Walther Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
Q4 SF
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It sure looks like the end of the road for the PPQ. But what of the Q4 and Q5 steel frame models? Are we to expect steel frame PDPs, or are the steel frames not popular enough to continue?

Please speculate. I'm new to Walther and unfamiliar with their history.

·
Registered
707 Posts
Seems like the steel frames were production stop gaps while the PDP was being conceived. From their genesis, they weren't made in high numbers, and because of their cost, I feel like the PDP will overshadow the entire PPQ line.

Considering the class of pistols in the self defence class (Glocks, HKs, Sig P365s,CZs, Staccato C2s), the weight of a Q4 seems to be the biggest detriment here. The mag capacity to size ratio is always going to be beat by something like a Glock 19 or P365, even something heavier like the Staccato C2 or CZ P-10C or even a CZ 2075 RAMI.

Considering other pistols in the same class (particularly entry level 2011s, CZ Shadow 2s and it's clones, Beretta 92XPs, and even Sig P320s), the other pistols are more appealing because of their aftermarket support, the cost of entry, and their modularity in comparison to the Walther Steel frames. If you were a budget concious competitor, the Walther steel frames don't fill that role for what you get. If you were to pull out all the stops, the steel frames still don't offer you much, no matter how much money you decide to throw at it.

While I adore the steel frames, you'll find the market for these pistols is going to be relegated mostly to die-hard Walther guys like us. I have a steel frame of my own, and while I enjoy the worksmanship and shootability, I can't imagine using it in a self defense or competition setting. I'll be pulling out my HK USP instead.

·
Registered
Q4 SF
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·