Walther Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an older Walther PP. I just purchased it today so I dont know the history of the gun as this was its first firing.

Problem was the slide would pre-maturely lock back with bullets still in the magazine. It did this almost every magazine but would occasionally go thru a magazine without issue.

Any advice?

PS...Its a .32acp

·
Registered
36 Posts
I'm a novice here, but I would check the ejector spring. It is a v shaped spring that keeps the ejector/slide stop down. If it is broken or missing, recoil may jar the slide stop and maybe cause what you are experiencing.

Be careful when you check for it because it may fly out. You may want to place the frame inside a clear plastic bag and inspect it that way. I'm not kidding.

Numrich has a parts diagram online, you can see what I'm talking about.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I believe I have fixed the problem.....not sure which was the culprit.

I picked this gun up straight from the gun store and took it out to the range.

First box of 50 I have 2 of the above failures. Next box of 50 I had about 5 or 6, including 2 during one magazine.

When I got home I decided maybe I should clean the gun. It didnt look that bad really, had some packing oil here and there but nothing excessive. So I disassembled the gun and soaked it in mineral spirits for just a few minutes, scrubbed it with a toothbrush and put it back together. I also did the same with the magazine, while I had the magazine apart I also stretched out the mag spring a little.

Then I took it back and put 50 trouble free rounds thru the gun.

The question is what was the answer, the cleaning or the mag spring stretch.

To be sure I ordered Wolff mag spring and recoil spring, might as well replace them as I intened to carry this gun for a CCW piece.

Another oddity about this gun.