Walther Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Complete newbie here, always thought US cleaners were really expensive pieces of equipment used only used for restorations or in lgs. Finding the prices aren't bad and can be used at home. I have been going to the range with more regularity and starting to complete at the local level plus getting my son involved has me cleaning frequently.

So my question is; are they effective and safe?

Sent from my SM-T830 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
Yea, they work fine. Unfortunately you can’t clean much with them unless you get a large one. I don’t use one anymore but have.

·
Registered
82 Posts
When used *PROPERLY" they are very effective. Use the right cleaning agents, don't run too long, make sure everything is dry, and then relube/relube/relube. I've used them for jewelry

Since I'm just a "hobbyist", I prefer detail stripping when needed and cleaning parts by hand.

Here's a recent vid on ultrasonic cleaners 101

·
Premium Member
329 Posts
I just do not see need for them. There is clean, and there is compulsively clean. Nothing wrong with compulsive cleanliness, but it is a want not a need. During ten years in the Corps we dragged M1, M14, M16, nd M1911 firearms through muck, mire, sand, volcanic rock pumice, rotten vegetation, and stuff we could not identify. We just cleaned our weapons with issued cleaning kits, cotton swabs, torn up tee shirts, some solvent and the ac coat of lubriplate. It ten year in peace and combat I never had a weapon malfunction, not even an infamous early M16. I guess that makes me a me a meet needs guy rather than a fulfill wants guy.

·
Registered
248 Posts
I use an ultrasonic cleaner for AR15 parts