Walther Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Walthers...a P99 will probably be my next purchase...so bear with me!

I know that Glocks and Berettas both have "trigger jobs" that involve polishing some parts of the trigger assembly to reduce friction and make the action smoother. (The infamous "$.25 Glock Trigger Job") Is there anything comparable for P99s?

On a similar note, are there any connectors (again, like Glock) to reduce the standard trigger pull? On a Glock, you can reduce the 5 lb pull to 3.5 lb (or less!) with a different connector. Is there any safe way to reduce a P99 AS from the standard 9 lb (DA) and 5.5 lb (SA)?

Thanks for the help!

Jim

·
Registered
55 Posts
some posters have said they disassembled their striker assembly and trimmmed off a few coils of spring to lighten trigger pull.  and earl's supposedly has a phoney trigger job that is a rip-off and is overpriced.   however i know of no official fixes that are concidered to be "approved and excellent"

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the heads up...I haven't dealt with Earl's yet but everything I've read says "overpriced"!

I don't think I want to be modifying striker springs. The Glock job is simple...polish the metal surfaces in the trigger assembly that rub on each other. I guess if the Walther leant itself to that kind of fix, someone would have tried it by now!

My Sig has traditional double-action, so I can definitely live with 9/5.5 lb trigger pulls!

Jim

·
Registered
60 Posts
Yu always hear about shooting the Walthers several hundred rnds to get the triggers real nice. Polishing the Glock triggers does this same thing only quicker.
removeing a couple coils should get results like changeing out a NY spring system for the stock 5LB spring in a Glock design.
But the lock works and fireing system design of the Walther is not going to lend itself to being played with like the Glock striker design.

·
Registered