Walther Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m not new to shooting, but I am new to carrying a 9 mm and a Walther. I was carrying a G42 and felt I wanted more stopping power and more rounds which is why I switched to my CCP M2. It has as about as much recoil as my G42 does. It eats just about anything I put through it, although the cheaper stuff tends to misfeed, and I’m learning how to clear jams. :rolleyes: My issue is the trigger...sure it’s not as smooth as my G42, however after watching a couple of YouTube videos I’m pretty I can fix that myself, the main issue is the texture of the trigger face, it bites my finger so to speak. Now, this could be the way I’m shooting (I’m learning to correct my low and to the left shots) or the recoil. But, has anyone taken a file to smooth theirs down a little? Is this something I can do, or should I take it to my gunsmith? Or, even better, is there an aftermarket trigger I can replace it with? Don’t get me wrong, I have the same exact trigger face on my 22/45, and I know it’s a .22 as opposed to a 9 mm, big difference...I know. But, this trigger is giving me headaches. Suggestions, ideas, thoughts?

·
Registered
637 Posts
I've smoothed a few edges that I didn't like in the plastic trigger and trigger guard area using some of the finer grits from a pack of hobby sanding films (multi-color plastic backed sheets).

·
Super Moderator
3,958 Posts
I'd like to ask some questions in this thread, if I may -- specifically because not once (ever) have I been 'bitten' by a Glock-style trigger safety. Thus, I'm trying to understand how/why it happens.

Some questions:
  • Are those being bitten using an old DA-style trigger pull rather than adjusting their trigger pull to that which is appropriate to a modern, semi-automatic pistol? (See images, below, for reference...)