Walther Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I think this forum needs some activity so I just wanted to share some details on the P38 I acquired while on vacation in New Mexico. If anyone ever wants the ultimate in info on P38's, make sure to visit www.p38forum.com. Those guys know every intimate detail on these pistols. I am just a novice in comparison.

First off, this is an ac44 all matching P38. The ac44 code means that it was built at the Walther plant in 1944. Notice the finish. The outside is very rough and not polished. Therefore the blueing is very faded. Factory blueing needs a polished surface for a long lasting deep blue, however since 1943 the Germans were desperate to cut corners to speed up production.

The frame is actually a redish color, this was due to improper use of blueing salts, I can only speculate there were slave laborers who did the less critical work such as blueing.

On the right side you can see the nazi and Werhmacht acceptance stamps. Under the eagle are the number 359, which also signifies this proofed at the Walther plant.

When looking for a wartime P38 it is important that the barrel, slide and frame have matching serial numbers. Through the years people have mismatched them, damaged them or maybe some GI's at the factory put them together wrong. Only some ac45's are supposed to be mismatched as the factory was getting desperate to put P38's together before they were overrun by Patton's 3rd army.

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Below is a picture of the barrel. Notice the locking block underneath is left in the white (unblued). A blued locking block is a good indication of a refinish job.

I was lucky to get mine with a correct magazine. At this time in the war they were no longer putting serial numbers on the mags to match the gun.