Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, new member, new shooter and owner of a new P99C. In other words, I'm not an expert on anything.
Took my P99 to the range for the first time yesterday and when changing magazines I used the slingshot method to chamber a round. Worked good for the first few mags but then wouldn't completely chamber a round. I resorted to using the slide stop and it worked perfectly. I re-read the manual and Walther says to use the slingshot method. Am I doing something wrong or does the pistol need some break-in time?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

·
Premium Member
13,891 Posts
Hello stars. Either way is acceptable. However, using the slide stop to release the slide is my preferred method. Quick and easy and works every time.....its actually quicker than using the slingshot method.

With the slingshot method you've got to mindfully pull the slide to the rear and THEN cleanly/quickly let go. Many people, if not concentrating, will ride the slide a little forward prior to release.

Me thinks you began to loose your focus, after a few reloads, and began to ride the slide...it doesn't take much.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hello stars. Either way is acceptable. However, using the slide stop to release the slide is my preferred method. Quick and easy and works every time.....its actually quicker than using the slingshot method.

With the slingshot method you've got to mindfully pull the slide to the rear and THEN cleanly/quickly let go. Many people, if not concentrating, will ride the slide a little forward prior to release.

Me thinks you began to loose your focus, after a few reloads, and began to ride the slide...it doesn't take much.

Thanks oldfart (haha). That's probably what's happening-like I said, I'm new at this. I've ordered some snap caps to practice at home so I can be more proficient with both methods. Other than that, the pistol ran like a champ.

·
Registered