Walther Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, What progressive type reloading presses do people use (i.e. to load 9mm Luger) and the minimum quatity required to justify having one. regards from Down Under.

·
Registered
225 Posts
I'm not an expert on reloading but I've spent some of the past year researching reloading. Last week I bought a Lee Classic Turret Kit in 9mm from Kempf's Gun Shop. I have a 9mm P99 and wanted to reload for it. I probably average 150 rounds per week. 9mm WWB at Wal-Mart has increased in price by $5.00 per hundred. I bought the above kit at Kempf's and added/upgraded a few items. I don't have an itemized receipt but the estimated total for the reloading kit and upgrades probably totaled about 225. I should pay for the kit in about a year. I'm also considering buying an AR 15 in 9mm so I should save even more money. :D

·
Registered
85 Posts
for personal use I strongly recommend Lee turret
I've had one for 25 years, loaded around 200.000 cases in it, and it works fine thanks.
I now have 3 Lee turrets and 1 dillon (for high volume only)

·
Registered
231 Posts
I have a LEE loadmaster. It works but takes a lot of tinkering and TLC to keep it running. Not for the faint of heart or the mechanically impaired.

The Lee Pro 1000 is not a bad press for $130 but the priming feature is not usable. When I was using a Lee Pro1000 then I would deprime and resize in one step- hand prime as a separate step-and finally powder charge, seat and crimp as a third step progressively. That loaded very good ammunition but was labor intensive.

BTW Lee sells refurbished presses on their website for less than you can get a new one anywhere else. These come with warranties.

If I was going to load only one caliber of pistol cartridge, then I would get a Dillon Square deal press. These take special dies so changing calibers gets very expensive.