Walther Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm new to this whole forum thing so please bear with me. I'm just wondering from your personal experiences with different types of defense ammo (HP) for the PPQ in 40 cal....what ammo did you deem reliable and/or unreliable? I just bought my PPQ.40 about a month ago and love it to death! I am more accurate with it than my XDM 9mm 4.5. My PPQ shoots FMJ ammo flawlessly (about 500 rds so far) but got a bit discouraged today when I tried out some HD/SD ammo....I first shot 20 rounds of Federal Premium hydroshock 180g JHP with no malfunctions. Then I shot 36 rounds of Corbon 135g JHP and had 3 FTF! If I remember correctly there was 1 FTF in the 3rd round of the first mag and 2 FTF in the following mag that were 1 or 2 rds apart. I know it is not uncommon for HP ammo to jam in certain guns but needless to say I am looking for another 40 cal HP that will be reliable in my PPQ. I was thinking about picking up some Federal hydroshock 155g since the 20 rds of 180g did not jam. I only bought the 180g because that's all they had at the time. If any of you can offer some insight on this please do. I'd rather not waste money on expensive ammo that you may already know from experience will jam in the PPQ. Thanks!:D

·
Registered
5 Posts
I have a 9mm, and so can't tell you for sure. 135g is extraordinarily light weight for a .40 bullet, probably a gimmick to get the energy level up. So, it makes sense that you'd have better reliability in the more typical 155-185g range.

·
Registered
351 Posts
The Hydra-shok is an older design and not the best out there. Corbon, I simply don't even look at it. In 40cal duty/defense ammo I recommend the Federal HST, Winchester Ranger T, and the Speer Gold Dot, all in 180gr weight. Choose the round that functions best and is the most accurate in your paticular pistol. I carry the Federal HST in all calibers. Bill

·
Registered
51 Posts

·
Registered