Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

First of all let me say that I'm a noob at competition shooting. I've been good at rifles all my life but I've never really gotten into pistols until the last 5-6 years (PPQ 4" 9mm, M&P 4" 9mm). And I still didn't shoot them a lot until two months ago when I started doing matches (outlaw, Steel Challenge, USPSA, IDPA - 12 matches in two months).

Today was my first IDPA match with the Q5 SF and here are my initial impressions:

1. I shot my first fully-clean stage today!
  2. The Q5 was ready for the next shot way sooner than I was. I need a lot more dry fire practice with this and be prepared to go much faster than I ever did with my PPQ.
  3. This was the 4th time I've shot my Q5 and I've used the same 124gr Blazer factory ammo each time, maybe 500-700 rounds in total. No malfunctions or issues.
  4. I went slow and steady (like I always do). My PDs (points down) are usually fairly good, but this time my PDs was one of the best in the match. With the Q5 it felt so much easier to be accurate with follow-up shots than my PPQ. Even when I felt that a shot sucked it was still pretty good. It was difficult to miss.
  5. The Q5 felt like part of my body. It didn't feel like the Shadow 2 where it's a front-heavy iron brick I'm holding in my hands. The Q5 was very well balanced and I just had to go with the flow.
  6. I can't notice the "sharp edge" on the beaver tail when shooting. There's no mark on my thumb knuckle. I can see and feel it when inspecting it closely, but when shooting it's not an issue. Instead, the beaver tail helps to guide my hand to make faster and more reliable draws from holster.
  7. As others have noticed, the magazine is pushed to one side inside the magwell and you can move the magazine side to side a bit more than on my PPQ. Maybe. But the magazine is not loose. And it doesn't seem to matter at all to the function.