Walther Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did a search but all I found was older threads so I'm starting a new one.

I have been reloading for several years but always loaded the same FMJ 115 gr to 1.150 COL. I shot those in my 1911, M&P, Shield, CZ and now my Q5.

I decided to get "fancy" and try some different projectiles based on how wonderful heavier bullets are talked about on the internet.

I have a bunch of 135 gr coated lead bullets that I bought when I owned my CZ since supposedly they are the cat's meow with that pistol.

Today I was going to work up some test loads to find a load I liked and then I was planning on loading up all 3000 of them getting ready for next season.

For the life of me, I could not get a round to drop all the way into the chamber. Even seating one to below 1" COL wouldn't get me there. (these were w/o primers or powder).

I checked some 115 and 135 factory rounds and the measured 1.150 and 1.135, respectively and they fit fine.

Then I took some 147 gr FMJ that I had and I kinda got one to fit at 1.135 but get this, when I took it down to 1.100 it was worse!

I'm thinking bullet shape is the culprit but maybe I'm doing something wrong.

I'm thinking that I should just buy a bunch of 115 FMJ's and stick with what worked in the past.

Help is appreciated and I hope all of you are enjoying the holidays!

·
Registered
18 Posts
I have been shooting 147 gr Berrys through my Q5 for a couple years at 1.135. Only time I have any trouble dropping in chamber (which is seldom) is when a piece of brass sneaks in with a slight bulge at the base. I am loading with 3.6 gr of Win 231 which makes a nice accurate, easy shooting load for USPSA.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! I tried again today and was able to load up rounds with the 135's at 1.105 COL and they dropped right in the chamber.