Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Problem with PPQ Disconnector?

Hi All,

I'm new to the Walther forum, just got my first Walther recently, a 5" PPQ M2. It's new to me but I'm the second owner, since buying used from FTF transaction is the only way non LEO can get em in Ca. It is like new, has no wear or even powder residue.

While doing function checks, I've found that the disconnector doesn't work. A trigger pull will drop the striker even if I hold the slide out of battery. It even drops the striker if I hold the slide to the point where the striker just begins to engage the sear.

Has this issue come up before? Can it be fixed at home, I'm relatively good with tools? Even if I need to send it to the factory, what could be causing this problem? Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
6,756 Posts
It even drops the striker if I hold the slide to the point where the striker just begins to engage the sear.
This is normal.

The PPQ will not fire out of battery. The firing pin block would stop the striker from impacting the chambered round if there was a failure to return to battery malfunction, and the trigger was pulled, and if the slide is so far back that the striker is barely pushing on the sear, then the striker wouldn't have enough travel or momentum to set off the chambered round anyway, even if the firing pin block didn't do its job.

Has this issue come up before?
I have never heard of any P99 or PPQ pistol that has fired out of battery. That being said, this is a used pistol, and people like to play "home gunsmith" a lot lately. Maybe you should get it checked out by a gunsmith anyway, if just to ease your mind.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Is this the hidden decock mode on the PPQ that should never ever be tried with a live round?

I do it all the time on my P99 at home (empty chamber, empty gun) if I dont want my striker to slam into the FPB..

·
Registered
6,756 Posts