Walther Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Hey folks, I'm new to the scene and just wanted your thoughts. I have a new PPQ SC and I started noticing some small flakes on my hands after shooting. Looks like its dinging up the slide and barrel. Should I be worried about this or is it normal wear and tear?

I don't own a PPQ SC, but on my PPQ M1s and my PPS M2 I have never seen those types of marks on my slides or my barrels - and that is with thousands of rounds fired.

Did you thoroughly lubricate your PPQ SC before firing it?

·
In Memoriam
15,041 Posts
In the picture of the barrel, I can't tell if those 'silver' specks are marks or dings.

In the picture of the inside of the slide, same thing...marks or dings....but they appear 'brass' colored....or maybe its just the lighting.....pretty hard to tell.

Need better photos, as well as more photos of other areas inside the slide/barrel and recoil spring. May need to look at the magazine too.

Have you tried wiping them off with some cleaner? Once again, are they marks or dings?

·
Registered
34 Posts
I have a lot of brass flakes every time from the very beginning with my Q5. Because I don't know it better, I considered it as normal. Is it? (Until now I've used CCI Blazer Brass and Sellier & Bellot 9 mm with no significant difference.)

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Here is a higher def photo. I've tried to clean it off but its staying.

Today I shot aluminum cased federal ammo out of it. It has mostly aluminum scratches but you can see brass as well.

It has been cleaned and lubricated after every visit to the range. I was a little concerned as well which is why I reached out to y'all. What do you think? Trying to make more photos of the slide.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1d3jbuI5E1BJVrhPaMhP7KJFUe82Bqf5h/view?usp=sharing

·
In Memoriam
15,041 Posts