Walther Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I recently bought a PPQ Q5 Match and I am a newbie with semi-automatic pistols, I used to shoot revolvers years ago. I rented one of these and shot it before purchasing one and I didn't have any issues with it. Thus far I have only been to the range once with mine. At the time the only bullets I had been able to find were American Eagle suppressor bullets, 124 gr. I was told by the clerk that the velocity is slower with these bullets. Well, I have to say it was probably the worst I've ever shot. I'm not sure if it was me and how I was holding it or if it was these bullets, or the sight is off. I also had 4 or 5 jams. Any one have any experience with these bullets?

I later found another box of bullets, Federal Ammunition Ultra Target & Range. I didn't notice it when I bought it, but later I saw on the back it says "Not for law enforcement use" and "Not for use in firearms with ported barrels or ported recoil compensators." I don't believe the Q5 has a ported barrel, if I understand correctly what that is, but I'm not sure if I am ok to use this ammo with my pistol. The velocity is 1125 at the muzzle and energy is 323 and it is 115 gr. Not sure why law enforcement can't use it. The manual says not to use +P+ ammo and discourages P+, but I don't see those designations on the box. But the "Ultra" made me wonder if that is like "Plus". Any idea if I am ok to use this? I can't find any definitive info, but maybe I don't know what to look for.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Good ammo. Not hot at all, it is target ammo. No the barrel is not ported on the Q5. The subsonic's you fired likely need a suppressor to function properly.

·
Registered
82 Posts
"Suppressor" rounds only means they're subsonic. The Federal site says 1030fps muzzle velocity. That's slow enough to cause issues cycling without a suppressor on a new gun with stock recoil spring.