Walther Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I'm pretty new to firearms, other than a bunch of youtube videos and few rentals at the range, I am relatively green. So I purchased a PPQ Match 5 as my first firearm, brought it home read the manual, and took it apart to clean the factory grease and the test fire residue. After field stripping the firearm I noticed it was not lubricated very well and aI continued to inspect the frame I noticed that the finish on the metal slide rails on the frame was faded. I can see what I assume is aluminum through the black finish. Is this something I should be concerned about? I haven't shot a single round through the gun yet. I did clean and lube it with ballistol and added Lucas gun oil to the slide and frame. I'm sure if I maintain it it should be fine, but is that something i can replace in the future? It is even an option?

Thank you for helping this poor greenhorn.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,294 Posts
Said another way...

“Hello I am a new driver and just got my DL. I decided to buy a Corvette as my first car. Does the exhaust sound correct?”

I am just messing with ya! Great gun. You are now officially spoiled because almost any other gun will be crapola.

I can’t Really tell from the photos what’s going on there. But honestly the finish should not be rubbed off anywhere on a new gun. Was it brand new?

Naturally through use, things happen.

·
Registered
1,294 Posts
Hey I just got a better look at it. I am guessing that the gun was on the shelf and has been racked a bunch of times. I can see the wear now. It looks fine and is pretty normal.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·