Walther Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just looked at two PPKs, one a 22lr and the other a 7.65mm, and I'm wondering if anyone can help me establish what I should be willing to pay.

The .22 is a PPK-L, 97% blueing, with original box, target, and one (somewhat worn out, flat base) magazine. Not sure about matching parts, since .22 PPK-L slides are unmarked. The bore is a little less than perfect, but it might have just been dirty. The internals seemed fine, but I'm no expert. One concern is that the DA hammer pull was heavier than other Walthers I've used (a PPK and PPK/S, both in 9mm kurz). Also, not sure about the year.

The 7.65mm PPK has maybe 95-96% blueing, with original box, target, and cleaning rod, but neither original mag. Serial numbers match, and it's a 1966. There are two little rust spots on the chamber cover, which is otherwise fine. The bore was either dirty or a bit worn, but the internals seemed fine otherwise.

Both had what appeared to be a little rust around the base of the extractor. Lastly, the grips were fine on both, and both had the smooth, unridged triggers. Any thoughts on what each is worth? The seller is asking too much, and I'd love some backup in citing a lower price. Thanks in advance for any help!

·
Registered
529 Posts
Without pics it's really hard to establish value.
What I can add, though, is that boxed PPKs( I assume the 22lr is post WWII although you don't mention the mfg date for this one) seem to have ASKING prices of $1200-$1800 on Gunbroker. Many of them have sat there for a year because they are so highly priced. And, most of them have no rust, maybe thinning finish on the grip front straps or on the high points on the slide.
The 22lrs go for more than the standard 7.65s, and a durals, whether 22lr or 7.65 go for a bit more.