Walther Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone,

I went out to the range the other day for a bit of practice with my daily carry. A 1950's vintage PPK. I carry with a round in the chamber, safety on and hammer down.

The first round is DA and subsequent shots SA.

I fired one round DA down range. For some reason the hammer did not stay cocked like it should. I looked closer and found the safety still engaged.

I am puzzled by this behavior.. I have been carrying and shooting handguns for 35+ years and this PPK for almost 20 years and have never heard of such a thing.

Any thoughts on how this could happen? I am baffled and will not carry it again until I can resolve the issue with good confidence that it will not happen again.

Any suggestions on trouble shooting steps?

Thanks.

Ps: maybe it is time to retire the PPK and give a new PPS a try :)

·
Registered
629 Posts
You will find the information that you seek in the FAQ section titled "When the hammer won't stay cocked".

Reactions: pilkguns

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
You will find the information that you seek in the FAQ section titled "When the hammer won't stay cocked".
Thanks for the link.

I read through that and the issue they are dealing with has some similarities but nothing speaking to the safety issue..

I am about done fooling with it. I am going to send it to a gunsmith. Can anyone recommend a gunsmith with good PPK knowledge?

That brings up shipping questions. Can I ship it directly to the gunsmith or do I need to take it to an FFL and have them ship it?

Thanks again.

·
Super Moderator
7,511 Posts
You should take the gun to a shop where you have done some business, and see if they will ship it for you, directly to the gunsmith. Have him return it the same way.
USPS won't take firearms from individuals, and UPS/FedEx insist on overnight, to a tune of about $65. You must send it to an FFL.