Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

New member here. I have a Interarms PPK/S .380, which I love. I am very accurate with it, and don't mind the recoil/bite, but do mind the blood on my hand and gun after about 30 rounds. When going to the range, I started shooting it as the last of my guns, so I don't get blood on my other guns. I read the suggestion on the forum of using a glove to solve this problem, which I may try. I'm wondering if I'll build up a callus so this won't be a problem. I usually shoot once a week, and am starting to see a callus build up. Wish me luck.

·
Registered
1,147 Posts
I don't think a callus will help with slide bite, and that's assuming you can even build one up properly from slide bite. Typically speaking, calluses are formed by things like friction, irritation, or at worst repeated blunt force to the skin, whereas lacerations such as those folks get from slide bite tend to result in scabs, blisters, and eventually scars rather than calluses.

What you need to do is try gripping the gun a bit lower to grant your hand clearance. I have rather large hands myself, but only suffered slide bite as a result of gripping the frame too high the first couple times I shot it, since then I've learned how to grip it just slightly lower so that the slide doesn't even graze my hand.

This is a common problem with PPKs and to a lesser extent the PPK/S, hence why S&W extended the grip tang and Walther Arms is doing so as well with the forthcoming production, but it can be solved by learning to adjust your grip.

Reactions: RGK

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for that advice. I'll try your suggestion this Friday and report back.

·
Premium Member
26,070 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Great post... I love the part where it reads, "Go get it and hold it in your shooting hand. I'll wait..."