Walther Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I am thinking of spending the money on a german ppk that I intend to carry and shoot at the range. What is considered the better pistol, the .380 or the .32. Is there that much difference in stopping power? I have heard the .32 is more reliable than the .380 and there is the extra round for whatever that is worth. What is your opinion. (p.s. I do not like the s&w ppk, though i could live with the ppk/s).

·
Registered
15 Posts
IMHO the 380 is a better round for self defense, although by no means is it a great self defense round with todays bullets it is better than it used to be. The 32 just doesnt have enough punch. I read somewhere that some people think the 32 is better because it penetrated deeper in some water or gelitan teste, but I have seen numeroius gun shot wounds when I worked as an EMT. I just ordered a PPK/s in 380 so I put my money where my mouth is. Also the PPK is a pretty reliable design and most jams in any auto is magazine related.

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
If you want to play the odds with reliability, the .32 will always be more reliable. I am not sure there is a big enough difference between 32 and 380 to give up the reliability edge, and also accurate follow up shots are easier with the 32 because of less muzzle flip. If you want a reliable 380, save several hundred dollars and get a Bersa Thunder. I can't describe it, but there is just something "sweet" about the feel of shooting a PPK or PPK/s in 32 caliber. The 380 is just a little too jaring for lack of a better word in the ppk platform, IMHO

Also, there is no comparison between the German and American made ppk's. The German ones have more craftsmanship with regards to melting edges and fit and finish. That's why you pay more.

·
Registered
280 Posts
It is easier to find a german ppk or a ppk/s in .32cal and they are a little less expensive.

·
Registered
33 Posts
[b said: