Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
A buddy of mine is selling his dad's PPK in .22 and came to me first. It looks virtually new. His dad wrote the date on the box, so I guess that is the era he bought it (?). It says 1965.
He thinks $2000 is what he wants. I am no expert, but it sounds fair. Any comments?

thanks, fuzzy

Registered
I鈥檝e seen a mint condition, .22 PPK-L sell for $2800 in past year. It was a 1965.

However, if I recall correctly, it was unfired.

Registered
Somewhere shy of $1,800 seems to be the going rate for one in VG to EXC condition. I recently paid $1,600 for such a one. A few pictures of it, especially the date code on the barrel and such would help.

Registered
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the input guys. Jeepers, That is quite a range: 800-2800. Sorry I don't have pictures but I will ask him to send some (he is a day's drive to the north). I saw the gun a few years ago and it in was excellent +, so as I expected, the price is in the ballpark. Because he is such a good friend, I won't haggle, I will either take it or pass. BTW Cas, what is a PPK-L?

thanks again,
fuzzy

Registered
Thanks for the input guys. Jeepers, That is quite a range: 800-2800. Sorry I don't have pictures but I will ask him to send some (he is a day's drive to the north). I saw the gun a few years ago and it in was excellent +, so as I expected, the price is in the ballpark. Because he is such a good friend, I won't haggle, I will either take it or pass. BTW Cas, what is a PPK-L?

thanks again,
fuzzy
As far as I know, the L simply denotes that the firearm has aluminum alloy frame as opposed to steel. Ive shot one before but I don鈥檛 own one (I prefer steel)... it is lightweight, which produces a bit more recoil.

Registered
The date code (if there is one at all) isn't stamped on the barrel (there you will only find the nitro proof mark only) but on the frame.