Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am brand new to Walthers but not to shooting. I have found a pre War Walther PP 7.65 in both excellent mechanical and cosmetic condition. Some little old lady only drove it to church on Sundays.

What led me to the pistol is I am currently enamored with the idea of a larger, steel frame pistol that shoots a very light caliber. I wish to build on the Mozambique drill and feel that is the right recipe for very fast, accurate three shot patterns.

Both the double action and single action trigger pull on these weapons seem very heavy. The drill would really be optimized with at least a very light single action trigger. I understand both DA/SA are adjusted together on PPs.

I'm looking for a detailed gunsmithing book that will give clear instructions for making this adjustment. I also want to make sure the reset is very short. Finally, I want to understand the limits in terms of safety. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

David

·
Registered
9,564 Posts
I think you are looking at the wrong pistol for what you are saying you want. There are a variety of M1911's in lighter calibers for shooting and training. Perhaps a P5 in some flavor. Most modern full size Walthers are polymer except the new steel PPQ. I'm sure the Members here will have a list of ideas. M1911

·
Registered
136 Posts
Put your PP on the WTS listing on this forum. With pictures you will have members burning up the listing quickly. A pre war PP is not what you want for this type of practice. I agree with 1911 that there are many pistols that would be much better. Use the money to get one of them that will meet your needs. A quick suggesting, if you want a classic, wood and steel pistol would be a Browning Hi Power.

Duncan

·
Registered
9,564 Posts