Walther Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up a 1968 PP in .380. Really nice pistol. However I am having a heck of a time getting ammo to cycle consistently.
Here is what I've used. Wolf (nickle case), CCI, and Magtech.

The accuracy is fine with all 3 three but I get lousy results with jams.

With CCI the slide does not go back into full battery at least once in 5.

With Wolf it does not exract/eject well.

The Magtech worked best and with good accuracy but still there were failure to eject problems.

Is it the pistol or the ammo...or both?

The pistol is a West German commercial piece that was one of the last to come into the US before the 1968 ban. There are no import marks and no official use stamps. It was a pistol to be sold into the American commercial market.

I am new to Walthers and I could use all the help I can get here.

Thanks,

Clement
Fort Myers

·
Premium Member
159 Posts
With any used pistol, especially one almost 40 years old, it pays to replace the recoil spring and the extractor spring too. Earl will do the extractor spring for you at no additional cost, and his spring prices are reasonable. Plus, you know you're getting OEM springs from him.

www.carlwalther.com

I do this with all used Walthers I purchase, and it seems to be a small price to pay for proper, safe operation.

HTH,
Jeff

·
Registered
83 Posts
Clement, I own a 1938 PPK in .32ACP. It jammed constantly with US made standard ammo like you described. My gun preforms flawlessly with Euro ammo which is hotter than US ammo; and, the gun was designed for hotter Euro ammo. Try Seller and Belloit or Fuji - do not use Wolf in anything unless its a loosey goosey toleranced Russian designed gun - it's extremely dirty ammo!
Try the hotter Euro ammo before you make changes to the gun. It certainly works on mine.

·
Registered
34 Posts