Walther Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a PK380 about 8 months ago and last night while i was cleaning it, i think i might of run into a problem but i'm not sure. I know a lot about firearms, but i am no expert on PK380's so i thought i would ask the community. Any advice or information is appreciated. My problem is after i was done cleaning it, i reassembled it and pulled the slide back a few times as i always do. Maybe i just never noticed it, but the 380 shakes when the hammer is back, regardless of if the safety is on or not. If i put the hammer down it doesn't remedy the situation but if i pull the trigger, it's back to it's normal rigid self. Is this normal? Did i just not notice this before? Checked the manual and of course it doesn't mention anything about it so it landed me here.

Thanks!

·
Registered
384 Posts
"… shakes when the hammer is back, regardless of if the safety is on or not.
If i put the hammer down it doesn't remedy the situation,
but if i pull the trigger, it's back to it's normal rigid self. "

I think you mean that shaking it with a normal grip causes rattling of the slide.
Substantial shaking of the slide on mine is normal. But when the hammer is down,
it shakes very little. If the hammer is back, and I press forward on the slide,
this also quiets the slide rattle.
The loose fit between slide and frame is noted by others, so it appears to be "normal".

I see now that I badly misread a comment by R_che concerning guide rod gouging :
"the slide action is perhaps the sloppiest feeling slide I have ever used ...
I am wondering if the looser slide/frame … "

He's clearly referring to the slop/play from slide to frame, not barrel to slide.
When the hammer falls, the slide can be in different positions due to the slide-frame play.
The sight picture is taken along the slide, whether the slide is to one side of
the play, or somehow angled within that play.