Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to guns let alone Walthers. I do want a Walther but don't know if I should get a compact vs the full sized P99 AS. What are the advantages/disadvantages of a P99c? I don't know if I'll ever get a CHL. My wife currently owns a glock for home protection but we're starting to really enjoy going to the range. So what do you all recommend?

TIA,
Danny

·
Registered
539 Posts
The advantage of the P99c is that it's smaller. The advantage of the P99 is that it's bigger. Easy eh? The P99c is easier to hide. The full size is easier to shoot and has more ammo capacity and a slightly longer barrel.

There's no magic. Provided you know what you want from your gun the choice should be easy. If you want both qualities in one gun, you're out of luck :)

You're probably better of with the full sized but you can't go wrong with the c either. Let us know what you decide.

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
Originally Posted by 2alpha
...In your pants you want a compact.

Not me!
My thoughts exactly....

Are you going to CCW? Or is it going to be a range/home defense piece. I have both but I really, really like my compact. You can always get a couple of full size mags and a mag extension for the compact and you can have the best of both worlds...that's what I did.:D

·
Registered
134 Posts
My thoughts exactly....

You can always get a couple of full size mags and a mag extension for the compact and you can have the best of both worlds...that's what I did.:D
+1 on that. Could not agree more. I, too, love my compact.

Ron

·
Registered
7 Posts
I decided on the compact because the smaller size and weight seemed nice and I'm in PRK so I can only carry 10 rounds regardless. I'm still waiting on mine but it sounds like I made the right choice.

·
Registered
4,343 Posts