Walther Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I'm cross-posting the "background" and "problem" info in both the PPS and P99 forums because I have both platforms, and the same question relates to both, but the answers will be different based on the pistol in question. (Which is why I'm cross-posting.) Please keep your responses to the appropriate discussion. Thanks!

My background
I've been shooting for over 30 years. (Competitive rifle in high school, then the Marine Corps, then bullseye pistol in addition to recreational pistol and rifle.) Once learning the fundamentals as a teen, I've never had a problem with grip, trigger pull, technique, muzzle flip, et cetera. I've also instructed many people in proper technique and watched them progress from novice into very skilled and competent shooters. So please, hold your "learn how to shoot" responses. The problem I have is a physical one that I'm trying to overcome, not one that can be solved by technique.

The problem
Recently I've been having wrist pain, and not just when shooting. Saw an ortho doc and he did x-rays and turns out the cartilage between two of the bones in my wrist is almost gone. At some point it will require surgery. Doc said that particular joint wears out from exercises like pushups. I asked about the effect of shooting high-caliber pistols, and he said, "yeah, that would wear it out too." The pain is severe enough that some of my pistols I simply cannot shoot. The problem isn't the recoil per se, but rather when the slide hits the frame, the impulse of that impact travels through my hand, into my wrist, and then it's bone-on-bone pain, which is, well, highly unpleasant.

MY QUESTION