Walther Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

After taking a class at the Firearms Academy of Seattle a couple of weeks ago, I began to notice small problem in my P99's trigger.  In the long SA mode, I now feel a "catch" about halfway between the fully forward location and the SA set point.  I can't feel it in DA, but that might simply be because the pull is so much heavier.

The pistol has 600 rounds of mostly Winchester White Box through it, and is regularly cleaned (field stripped, Hoppe's for the barrel/slide then oil). Perhaps I have some crud on a trigger mecahnism surface.  How would I clean that?  Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Additionally, I wanted to relate some problems I had during the class.  I'm a complete novice - those 600 rounds through the P99 are the only pistol rounds I've every fired.  At the class (FAS-1, which was not only instructive, but also great fun) we did a series of reload drills.  What bothered me was the long SA pull after reloading from slide lock.  I'm more or less used to the DA/SA transition, but had never really thought much about the long SA mode.  Well, every time we did that, I pressed way too hard, expecting DA since the trigger was forward.  Needless to say, I threw every shot.  I suppose that more practice will solve that, but wondered if anyone else was distracted by that mode.

To be honest, I'm now a bit confused about why the long SA even exists.  If you carry with a round in the chamber and decocked (as I assume most do) then then only time you'd see that mode would be during a reload.  Help me understand what that buys you.

Thanks in advance for the help.

-Chris

·
Registered
263 Posts
Welcome to the board!

Could you describe this catch feeling you are getting iwth the SA trigger forward in more detail?