Walther Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK first off, hello to all of you out there. I am new to this site. This is my first time here in fact.

So, I have a few questions for all of you. I currently carry a Taurus PT-111, and before all of you start telling me that I carry a sub standard gun, I am aware of the feeling out there on the PT-111. But, I like it, it fits my hand well and I shoot very well with it. I have a few problems with it however that make me want to upgrade my equipment. So, I am thinking about buying a sw99c as my new carry gun. I have held a P99 full size and I must admit, the grip fit my hand like a glove. It was the best feeling gun I have ever held. I was very pleased. My question is this, does the sw99 feel the same? I believe that the frame for the sw99 is made by Walther, so the only difference is the S&W logo on the grip? The sw99 costs about $100 less than the Walther version, so I am leaning towards the sw99.

Can I use Walther P99 magazines in the sw99?

You can use the full size 16 round magazines in the compact right?

If someone can explaine to me the differences between the different actions I would appreciate it. I don't think I understand them at all. I want a traditional double action first shot, single action second with the decocker. What version is that?

Any info you all can give me would be very, very much appreciated. Thanks out there.

·
Registered
310 Posts
Welcome, Echotech. Don't worry -- no one will attack you for your choice of gun...especially now that you're considering a Walther!

If you were blindfolded, you'd never know the difference between the P99 and the SW99. Walther and S&W have a "strategic partnership" and the lines between them are very blurry. You'll get the same quality from S&W -- which is where you'd send your Walther if you ever had a warranty issue.