Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been shooting handguns since about 1971. I've been to hundreds of
gun stores and gun shows, but I've never seen a P-5 in person. Never held
one or ever been in the same room with one as far as I know. It goes without
saying that I've never fired one.

What type of action do they have? Is it straight blow-back like the PPK/S, or
does it have some type of delayed blow-back like the 1911's?

In what calibers are they produced? Anything besides 9mm?

The way you all are writing about them, I would guess that they are still in
production, just not marketed very well. Certainly not here in the southwest
U.S. anyway.

Hope I get to touch one someday! They sound like good firearms.

·
Premium Member
4,590 Posts
The P5 has a locked breech, it is DA/SA with a decocker only which also funtions as a slide release
made in 9x19, 9x21, and .30 Luger......
some of them came as a 3 barrel set and were serial #ed to the frame... but I have only seen one of these.... most where in 9mm and .30 Luger.......
.30 Luger were mostly made for export into Italy as civilians can't have 9mm ammo there......
You can find LNIB P5's on gunbroker for about $750.....
make sure you don't pay more than $500 for a police trade...which recently (within last year or so) flooded the market..... they have a BMI stamped in the left side on the slide and should have import markings infront of the triggerguard on the bottom of the frame.....
You can still get NIB through Earl's repairservice at a big premium ....
and yes it is one soft shooting gun... the recoil is amazing and for such a short barrel it is mazingly accurate....

Now there were some aftermarket .22lr conversions that came with slide, barrel and mags... but these were not made by Walther ..... they were used a police trainers in Germany and I have not seen one for sale in the US... but who knows maybe they are just in good hands.... again those would go for a premium as they were so scare....