Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I first learned of the P5 as a teenager in 1983. At a price of $1000 (over $2600 in 2018 dollars) I never expected to own one. We never know what the tide might bring, however; and I am now the proud owner of this pistol. I have been shooting and evaluating my example for several months now and am forming the impression it may be the ideal 9mm. It is of exceptional quality. Fit, finish, and materials appear to be superb. Functionality cannot be faulted. Mine has exhibited no malfunctions and accuracy exceeds that needed in a combat pistol. In addition, it is size appropriate. Many pistols chambered for this cartridge are larger than they need to be. Others are too small for practical and effective use. The P5 is ideally sized for the 9mm Parabellum cartridge. The pistol will almost fit in the palm of the hand, yet has sufficient mass and grip proportions to allow for effective use. Some might criticize the eight-round magazine capacity; but again, the P5 exhibits practicality by employing a slim, compact magazine that still exceeds a typical revolver capacity by 40% or more. Just today, I ran through a law enforcement qualification course with my P5. It outperformed every other pistol on the line, turning in a perfect score with the tightest group and no malfunctions. An outdated design? Not so’s I can tell.

·
Registered
2,781 Posts
Well said.

I knew about the P5 in the mid '80s, never held one until late July this year.

Here it is 3 months later, and I own six P5s.

·
Registered
1,335 Posts
I purchased mine in 84 new, just the one but it is my favorite pistol I own.

Reactions: ronin11

·
Registered
2,781 Posts
So THATS where they've all gone.......:eek:

Yes, NIB/NOS/+97% P5s seem to be gathering in the D/FW area of Texas.

Ol' Fart is helping in this trend.

I'm looking to grab #7 soon. It's in the works.

·
Registered
1,285 Posts