Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to gun ownership so I know very little. I bought a P22CA in October 2017 but just fired it for the first time Monday, July 2020 during a Basic Arms Handgun training course. I purchased Federal ammo, LR22 from the arms store where the instructors work and this ammo was recommended.
My gun started out good but soon started FTL and eject every other round In each magazine. Frustrating! The course instructors tried it and had the same problem. They said it might be the Exractor but something was definitely wrong. I got very bruised on my left hand from so much Tap and Rack. They suggested I contact Walther to have it sent to be fixed and then put it on consignment for sale and get a 9mm, eg. a Glock 19.

Can someone tell what might have caused this and what should I do. It’s a nice small gun for my small woman‘s hand and maybe I should try some different ammo.
Please advise this Newbie! Thank you

·
Registered
26 Posts
Try a box of CCI Mini Mags. If they don't work the problem isn't the ammo. My P22 was a bit finicky at first, but not that much.

Did you clean and lube before taking it out? If not, there's a good chance that's the problem. A bit of oil on the barrel, recoil spring and guide rod, oil the rails well and rack the slide back and forth a few dozen times. BTW, I wouldn't dry fire it, just rack the slide.

What do you mean, "FTL?"

-------------------------------------------
I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous.

·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the reply. I have read that the CCI mini mags work well. I’ll try them next time I go to the range. I had cleaned it about a year ago and stored in the case. Didn’t do it before training. As a newbie, that was probably a mistake so I’ll make sure before next time. Hopefully the CCIs and cleaning before will fix the issue. So much to learn

·
Registered
26 Posts