Walther Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Banned
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I like how the Walther P22 looks just like the P99 but much cheaper, just wondering, is it any good? Are there upgrades easily found for it? Sorry, I'm a newb, just need some guidance. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
350 Posts
I have a decidedly negative opinion about my P22 (CA version). It just doesn't work well. Even CCI mini mags (basically the gold standard for high velocity rimfire) cause it to choke nearly every magazine. Anything less than perfect technique with a super stout grip results in failure. Many early pistols were known to crack the zinc-alloy slide (cheap materials used).

To be fair, they have revised the P22 and made some significant improvements/upgrades that are not present on my pistol.

The most aggravating thing, to me, is that my pistol has a magazine disconnect as well as no decocker. I'm pretty sure the only way to decock the pistol is to insert a magazine and pull the trigger with the safety on (the hammer falls but the safety blocks the hammer from the firing pin). Never felt safe to me. I understand that this problem has been resolved on the more recent P22 Q model.

The P22 is also just very, very SMALL. It's nowhere near a 'regular' size pistol. It feels distinctly dainty. Check it out in this picture, top right corner, next to a PDP. It's SOOOO small.

My Walther/Colt 1911 in 22LR by comparison is superb. Feels just like the real thing (minus the recoil). The Walther/Colt eats all sorts of ammo and seldom has a complaint. It'll get jammed up every once in a while (it is a 22, after all) but we're talking 1 in 100 or 1 in 150 on the 1911 rimfire vs 1 in 10 on the P22 rimfire.

Regarding upgrades... there is a factory laser sight available for the P22. The pistol does feature a rail so you can add some rail based accessories, including a floating top rail via the bottom rail pic slot.