Walther Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased an AC44 and took it completely apart to remove all the old grease and gunk. I went to the range the next day and the slide would stay opened after each round. I would have to pull down the slide lock and it would chamber a new round and then stick opened again. Basically making it a bolt action pistol. I tried 115 and 124 grain of different brands and it continued to happen. I just bought new recoil springs but haven’t received them yet. About 1 round out of each magazine would work correctly (sometimes first round sometimes last or anywhere in between) I made sure my finger was not on the slide lock but since shooting it I need to manually hold the slide lock up to get it to lock but shooting it still makes it lock.. I have no idea what it could be now. I am new to these guns and got it for a great price for no rust or anything so I hope it is just the springs but while I’m waiting for them to be shipped is there anything else I should look for?
Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
13,914 Posts
When you took it apart and reassembled it, you put back the slide latch spring either backward or upside down. That's probably what's causing the slide to lock open prematurely. Find and study an exploded view to see the correct orientation.

New recoil springs are not going to fix that, but sometimes generate new problems that you didn't have before. Why not get the gun running properly first, before you go willy-nilly changing springs and introducing more variables?

M

·
Registered
9,831 Posts