Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
1,534 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, who knows the answer to this?

Were the fat slides introduced because of the occurences of cracks on the aluminum frames on the P.1's, or because of an issue with the slide cracking on P.1/P.38's? Or was it something else entirely?

I know that the hex pin installation was a result of cracked aluminum frames on the P.1. Was the fat slide change associated with the hex pin fix on the P.1? I have heard that there was an issue with some cracked slides on all steel P.38's (presumably 1938-1945). But I have no confirmatory knowledge of this.

R

·
Premium Member
13,914 Posts
The fat slide was Walther's answer to a high incidence of slides stretching, cracking, and eventually breaking, at the locking block cutouts. I have personally examined dozens of slides , both late-war Mauser and postwar Walther, cracked or broken in this way. Whether this was the result of more powerful or widely variable postwar 9mm Para ammunition or of some other cause, I am unable to say.

I do not believe that cracking of the frame was or is a frequent occurrence. I personally have seen only a very few, cracked in different places, from which I draw no opinion as to the cause.

The hex lug was added for an entirely different reason: to extend the service life of the frame by providing a hardened steel wear surface for the locking cam. Frames that have seen a lot of use, especially when dirty or without lubrication, show considerable wear and displacement of aluminum at that point, which makes the action locking/unlocking rough and less consistent and reliable.

The hex lug does not make the frame stronger; it is only an insert and does not "cinch" the frame together to prevent splitting. It could be argued that broaching the hole for the insert actually makes the frame integrally weaker. But it lasts longer.

M

·
Registered
26 Posts