Walther Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys.
Noob here looking at getting a P99 as my next gun.

I see you guys refering to some P99c's. I assume that is for "Compact" right?

Well I am thinking about a 9mm with the AS trigger system. Is the AS preferable to the QA?

I wanted to double check this, but the AS has a double action first long pull then single action for follow up shots, correct?

What is the difference with the QA?

This gun will probably be a bedside gun for the wife, and will replace a .357 wheeler. I chose the wheel gun for simplicity for the wife so she doesn't have to think about the operation of the gun. That is a big reason I am drawn to the P99AS. Just pick it up and pull. Plus much higher capacity in her hand if she needs. I was also drawn to Walther because of the quality and the reputation they have. Plus it is the best looking polymer gun out there.

Look forward to learning more about Walthers here and thanks in advance for the information.
Later,
JP

·
Registered
65 Posts
Yes, you're correct about both things: the P99c is the compact, and the AS trigger system is double-action/single-action. You can cock it and have the first pull be single-action if you like, and in fact when you chamber a round the gun will be in SA until you decock it via the button on the slide.

The QA is similar to a Glock's action. It is always partially cocked (except when decocked with the much smaller button on the slide, used only for storage and disassembly/cleaning) and every trigger pull will be the same. The travel distance and weight are not as long/hard as a P99 AS in DA mode.