Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all

im brand new to the handgun scene and recently purchased a P99 AS..
it's taken about 6 months to get my pistol license, so i've had plenty of time to do some research and am happy i decided to go the Walther Way

question is though.. and it's a newbie question. what difference will a higher 'grain' round make through my gun?

i went to buy some 9mm today.. i asked for 115 grain FMJ and got a box of that and a bo of 147grain FMJ Flat Points

is the P99 likely to have any trouble with the 147?

thanx in advance for any help given

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
You will just have to shoot your P99 and see what you and it like best.

Some early version P99s liked 124 gr better since this is what they were tested with at the factory in Germany. later models that were sold here in the US liked 115 gr better since that is what is most common here the guns were marketed for such...you are in NZ. I would imagine that you have a European model...you can tell by the rear sight. (U configuration, not the 2 dots). If that is so it may like the heavier grain better. But again all you can do is go out and see for yourself.

My early P99 likes the heavier better, I shoot 147 gr. My later full size and compact like the 115s. :rolleyes:

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
cheers guys..

i put a half box of the 147 flat points down range last night.. produced a better grouping for me, but was a little further off POI..

im so new to pistol shooting, that at this point choosing ammo is a bit premature. i'll concentrate on improving my stance & technique first and then start fine tuning my load

thanx for your help guys.. im going to finish off that box today in my lunch break.. the range is 5 mins from my office :D

·
Registered
358 Posts