Walther Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased my first handgun, after lots of research on the Walther Series I went that direction.

I fired a rental PPQ 9mm and loved it, but none are around my area for purchase (with the exception of the match series with dot sight and that is well out of my price range). The Gun Shop had a like new P99QA on consignment with full box, including a fired casing, paper target, 3 backstraps (total), and additional front sights.

Everything about the case and interior and condition of the weapon seems to show it saw almost no use, there was a little carbon around the lower rail but it cleaned off with just a little swipe of my fingernail.

I went ahead and got it. I have field stripped and cleaned it, which it really didn't need much attention.

I compared it to the PPQ I fired, and noticed the De-Cocker button, which I like the option as I am new to this and determined that it would not hurt to have one more level to go thru before it can be fired (if one chooses).

I am a little confused on this though due to the manual. The manual states that this is a De-Cocker but only on the AS model, it states on the QA it is an additional field strip component. I have depressed the button and the visible firing pin at the back of the slide does reset, and the trigger can be pulled with no effect.

I have not had a chance to get back to the range to run live rounds thru it, will hopefully be able to get out next weekend.
Anyone have any experience with this? I would love any input about this, plus any other tips/suggestions about this weapon. Plus any info about how old this gun actually is? the casing envelope is dated 19.11.09, which I am guessing is for November 19, 2009....

·
Premium Member
13,498 Posts