Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, new to the forums, and pretty much guns in general. I just started shooting about a month and a half ago at my local range in Michigan. I've rented several different guns so far: Glock 17&19, S&W MP in 9mm and .40, Para ordnance in a .45 and a couple of .22's. So far I liked the para ordnance in the .45 and the Glock 19. I hated the S&W MP. Another problem I had was that the Glock just seems to wide for my hand. I probably have a total of about 600 rounds through various guns.

With all that said, I'm looking towards getting my CCW and trying to decide on purchasing a gun. Problem is that I can't decide on what kind of gun I want. I need a gun that I can carry, as well as a gun that'll be in my dresser next to my bed when I move to a....not so great part of town in the near future (which is basically the main reason for me getting a gun.) I also plan on going to the range at least once a month to once every week even just to shoot and become adept at using it. I'm not exactly sure how often I will be actually carrying it as my CCW or even if I'll get my CCW within the next year. I just don't want to purchase several guns, I would like to only have one (heheh....I know....I'm going to be in trouble...but so far that's all my budget is allowing me.)

So here starts the questions. Is a Walther p99c a good gun for the uses I have listed? I wanted to rent one but my local gun stores don't have any to rent. The Walther p99c is one of my top choices along with a H&K USPc; I've held the p99 and it felt very nice in my hand, just a tad nicer than the USPc. Any feelings on these two weapons (I know it's a Walther forum but I just wondered if anyone had anything good or bad to say about the H&K USPc...even anything bad to say about the Walther p99c.)