Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, newbie here. I just bought a PPK/S for my wife, we took it to the range and it stove piped 35/40 rounds. Very frustrating. We were using Fiocchi FMJ. We did shoot one round of Winchester hollow point and it stove piped too. The gun shop had me leave it with their gunsmith, but I'm not sure he'll know what to do. I've read about trying different ammo, changing to a lighter spring, running 150 rounds through... I've never owned a firearm before that functioned this poorly. My wife's in love with the gun and I'd love to love it since it's so beautiful, feels and shoots great (one at a time). The guy will refund my money, and I could try buying a different one if this is just a lemon. Advice? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
...The guy will refund my money, and I could try buying a different one if this is just a lemon. Advice?
I'm assuming this is a brand new S&W gun? In any event, that's a very high failure rate -- go for the refund (if he's offering) and look for another.

·
Registered
273 Posts
More info would help... was it brand new or just new to you? Was it 380 or 32acp?
If it was brand new you could send it back under warrantee....

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Brand new .380. So you guys don't usually see a whole lot of stove piping in a new PPK/S. Your guns are reliable out of the box?

·
Registered
2,323 Posts
With the S&W version it seems to be either they're flawless or they're a disaster. Hit-or-miss... pardon th' pun.

At least you have recourse.

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
Don't send it back to the factory and start that revolving door process of aimless spring changes and feed ramp polishing. If the seller is offering to take it back - do it and consider yourself lucky. Many have not been so fortunate.

If/when you do replace it, I'd also give serious consideration to the MUCH more reliable .32 caliber model...

Really.

·