Walther Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Day before yesterday I went to the local gun show looking for a small revolver, S&W 357 Airlite or similar, so I could carry more often. None of the revolvers appealed to me, but somehow a Walther PPK/S-1 .380 in stainless steel made by Smith & Wesson followed me home. I hate it when that happens.
(Impulse buy). I had done ZERO research but I liked the gun and the way it felt. I carried it all afternoon and was convinced it was the one - I only had to shoot it.

That evening I scoured the Internet for info, and low and behold 90% of the posts I found are negative. I should preface this post by saying I am not a gun expert, but there seemed to be some confusion between the different PPK/S models (the ones made in Europe, the ones made by Interarms? and the ones made by S&W). In any case, almost all posts talked about jams, skin burns, problems loading, etc. etc. Made me wonder why James Bond would ever use such a piece of garbage.

Yesterday I took it to the range, and I was afraid of pulling the trigger because of all the bad press I read about this gun - but I did it anyway, expecting it to jam. It didn't. I pulled the trigger again. It worked. 100 rounds later (of the cheap Winchester stuff they sell at Walmart). I also put 40 rounds of Winchester Supreme XT - flawless. The groups were tight at 14 and 21 feet and I did not burn my skin once.