Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I’m new to the world of Walther pistols. Came from Glock to see how these babies work. I just purchased this pistol yesterday, I was checking the oil wellness of the gun, taking it apart to check the barrel and spring. When putting the gun together the slide has become jammed in somehow. It’s maybe 2 centimeters away from being flush with the grip of the gun, how it normally is supposed to be. It will slide 2 centimeters forward but won’t move. If I pull the trigger it’ll jam too and make a double click. I’ve unloaded the magazine and everything. There’s also a very slight gap in the slide and gun while it’s on. The release handles for the slide is down and won’t become flush with the handle like normal either. Is there any fix to this?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Looks to me like the captive recoil Spring shifted while you are putting it back together. Try and see if you can separate the slide from the frame again.

·
Premium Member
14,304 Posts
There's no round in the chamber....right??? I'm looking at that and scratching my head. The takedown latch is still in the down position because the slide/barrel isn't back far enough for the barrel lock to clear the lug on the bottom of the barrel. The only thing that comes to mind would be whether the recoil spring assembly was inserted/oriented correctly....meaning was it put back in backwards? The gap between the lower part of the slide and the top of the frame seems to be okay to me.

I solved one kinda like this the other day, when someone forgot to install the recoil spring when they put the slide on the frame. Barrel flopped up an an unusual angle and the slide became stuck. Cured it with a rubber mallet. :giggle:

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·