Walther Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I’m a new owner of a Walther P22CA. I would like to try to eliminate the “point” on the hammer to see if it can reduce some of the problems I’ve been having, but I have no experience with metalworking like this and was hoping you guys can help. I need a little bit more guidance on the fine details of the metalwork involved. If it’s too difficult to teach a novice on how to do this, then let me know and I’ll definitely look into finding a local gunsmith who can instead.

For some background on the issues, I took it to the range 2 weeks ago and fired this brand new gun for the first time. I purchased some Winchester M22, 40 grain 1255 FPS ammo from the dealer who assured me that it was great and the Walther P22 should have no problems whatsoever with the ammo. Well, it wasn’t as good as advertised. I probably should have read the posts on this forum first. I guess it doesn’t matter though; CCI mini mags and Remington Golden Bullets are nowhere to be found at this time, so these M22’s are what I’m stuck with.

I seem to have had every single problem listed in previous posts, including spent casing that gets stuck in the barrel, failure to eject casing, failure to feed the next round requiring me to repeatedly rack the slide to get the next bullet in the chamber. It seemed like one of the above problems occurred every other round and I couldn’t seem to predict which problem would happen next. I did do the drop test, dropping a bullet in the chamber and it was able to go in and out smoothly so it seems the barrel is smooth enough.

After reading all of these posts, I first wanted to try and fix the hammer to see if I can get some better results. I’ve gone over the pictures on the P22 Bible, and have an idea and plan to purchase the following:

Sandpaper which include: 320 grit, 400, 600 grit
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07VSFMNCJ/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_U_HmqgFbJKDJX0Z