Walther Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Am new to Walther and new to this Forum. Ihave a few questions. 1.What are the good and not so good about these weapons? 2. How are they to clean any tips on this?3. what caliber do you like 32 or.380?  Thanks alot, Bob McGehee.Perris, Calif.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Welcome to the forum !

I'm not an expert by any means, but I've fired the PP, PP Super and I own a PPK/S now. But I'll try to answer your questions as best I can.

1. These are very fine weapons, indeed, with an almost 80-year history. They were used as police sidearms for years, and were only recently supplanted by lighter, smaller compacts as back-up guns (BUGs). All of the PP line is heavy for its size, based on the all-metal frame. There exist today a wide variety of polymer-based alternatives that are much lighter and probably as reliable. They are extremely accurate, and were the best I've ever shot with a pistol out of the box. It's a very pretty gun, and of course the PPK-type has the James Bond appeal.

2. Cleaning is easy. Blowback designed pistols (and SMGs) leave residue in very predictable places. PPK's strip very fast- you could accomplish it in 10 seconds easy. A more detailed strip is simple, and reassembly would require little effort or tools. All-metal frame and slide (as well as most internal parts) will require more lubrication, but will also last longer, and stand up to harsh cleaners more durably.