Walther Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I just purchased about two weeks ago a walther p99 non qa, which by the way my dealer told me that walther is no longer making the as but now is only making the qa;that the last batch was sent out a week ago. Well onto the point.

I am pretty new to weapons but know enough to shoot and be safe. This is why I am writing. I originally wanted a .40 but then switched to a 9mm and I am stuck. The guy received brand new never opened .40's and the new 9mms come in next week, but I don't know what to choose?

I am afriad that i won't be able to control the recoil on the .40, but I have never shot a .40 needless to say a p99 .40. So I really don't have any choice but to go with what you guys have to offer since all of you own p99.

Can someone tell me if I should go with the .40 or the 9mm?

I want to use it for self defense but also to go practice. So i know the difference in price of the calibers. Thank you

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Can someone please give me a reply I am some what short on time.

·
Registered
72 Posts
[b said:
Quote[/b] (mikep99 @ June 25 2005,09:30)]Can someone please give me a reply I am some what short on time.
Well, I prefer 9mm because it is less expensive and because I do not beleive that there is a noticable degredation in stopping power from 40 S&W. I carry Wincheser 127gr +P+ in my Walther P99 and in my Kahr PM-9 I will have Speer Gold Dot 124gr +P if it ever gets off of back order. Both are fine rounds and one is used by New York Police and the other Orlando Police if my memory serves me.

Practice could always overcome any increased recoil if that is all you are worried about.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #4