Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just picked up this nice Walther PP, .32 ACP, police trade in made in 1960. Has matching magazine (last 3 numbers of serial number stamped on magazine).

Looking for information on these grips. Never seen any with the lower left rear cut out. No logos on the grips and I am assuming they are some kind of aftermarket grip.

(Mysterious cut out on lower left grip)

Have some new Mecgar magazines coming. Also, took it to the range and got a quarter size group at 15 yards. Very, very nice gun and will fill my void until I can find an affordable German made, PPK in .32. (Had one when I was a city police officer in 1965. Paid $50 for it. Oh well :).

Thanks for any info,

Trooper Joe

·
Registered
28 Posts
I don’t know about the cut out but I have a 1960 Manurhin marked police issued PP .32 with the same grips. I don’t think they are after market as I have seen others.

·
Registered
499 Posts
Your picture doesn’t show well enough on my phone for me to be sure, but is that police stamp a crossed-out ByP cartouche?

The left grip looks sawed off by hand. The only explanation would be that these grips used to be on a PP with side loop for a lanyard.

·
Registered
499 Posts
Well, these were obviously made in some factory, but if we have them on both Manurhin- and Walther/Ulm-marked guns, the question would be which one.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I just saw one listed on gunbroker that is identical to yours. They say it is a Swedish Police issue.
Interesting.

I just installed a set of new factory black plastic grips on it that I got from Numrich. Looks and feels great. Keeping the grips that came on this gun in the box along with the stock magazines.

Will use two new Mecgar mags for range use.

Trooper Joe

·
Registered
499 Posts
I just saw one listed on gunbroker that is identical to yours. They say it is a Swedish Police issue.