Walther Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think I posted something about this a year or so ago, but I had no way to post pics then and I don't think I ever got much response. I have a pretty nice PP that I figure to be from 1942 or 43, but I see no evidence of any sort of proof marks on it. From what I read if it was a military or police issue firearm it would have certain marks on the barrel or receiver, but I see no marks of any kind besides the serials and makers logos, etc. Would they be selling civilian guns in the middle of the war? Would those have no markings?

I tried to resize the images in imgur, but I'm not very good at this. If those are as enormous as they look, here are the direct links to the photos.
And I give up; the images show up in the preview text box, but not in the post. I have no idea why.

IIRC from what I read, I was under the impression that ALL Walthers ought to have some sort of proof marks. Any suggestions?
And yes, I know, don't post serials numbers. But from what I've read it's really not worth the effort to go back and blur them out. Took me a while just to upload those to start with. I guess I'll take my chances.

·
Registered
61 Posts
I can't be sure but it looks like file marks where WaA stamps typically are on slide and frame. As far as E/N marks, I can't see the metal well enough to see what is going on.

If I had to wager a guess and it is only a guess, the Nazi marks have been scrubbed and the gun reblued. There are locations especially the barrel housing that is heavily pitted with blue inside the pitting. The proof on the end of the barrel is almost there as I can see parts of the eagle wings. It looks scrubbed. The far right side of the banner on left of slide took a hit from the file and some of the letters are almost gone.

Let me know if you see these things I pointed out, in person. It is too difficult to tell for certain with pictures and less than optimal lighting.

·