Walther Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening guys, looking to see if anyone can help me out with some information on a Walther PPK that I obtained through an estate sale. I have no further knowledge other than the gun was found at the bottom of a storage box. Serial number is 430143K. Serial number is matching on the slide and frame. No other markings on the slide, is that normal? I also have the one magazine that was in the gun, 7.65mm. Any information would greatly be appreciated.

Thank you!

Attachments

·
Registered
2,842 Posts
Well, the books says that serial number goes to a PPK in 7,65 aka .32ACP, made in Zella-Mehlis, after 1942, before 1945, much closer towards '45: serial number range ends at 4201097K); may have had an alloy grip and hard chromed or nickeled slide from the factory; otherwise somebody had it polished and re-finished. I can't really tell from the pics. The grips are not factory original.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great thank you for the information! Is it common to have no writing on the slide like this one?

·
Registered
273 Posts
PPK questions

The serial # places it within 3000 guns of the the very end of PPK production.
The literature also states that inscriptions on the left side of the slide were dropped at the end of the war and just a 'ac' on the right side of the slide. Apparently there were nickel or chromium plated guns at the 'end'. The wood grips are not stock. All in all, I believe the gun has been refinished. The s/n on the slide is partially buffed out, and the finish looks to new to be true. You will get more answers so we'll see what the experts ssay.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Great thank you for the information. I can take some additional pictures if needed. I am trying to see if the gun was refinished as well

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #8