Walther Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear Walther PP experts, this is a question, I hope that you experts can shed my doubt.

I think it is to be expected that the edges on each side of the slide perfectly flat when leaving the factory.

Well at first glance it looks like this. But if you look at it tilted in good light, you see a very small very light roughing hole only at one point, about half an inch to the right of the serial number.

The blue polish is perfect, but only this detail is what leads me to suspect, that perhaps it is re-bluing. No small scratches typical of re.bluing.
Although I have a lot of experience in weapons, in general I realize if it is bluing from the factory, in this case I cannot determine it, because I have no experience with the Walther PP series.

Attached photos, waiting for help.

Thanks for your invaluable help! experts.

·
Registered
3,388 Posts
I've understood what you want to know. Hard to tell from your pics. The question for me is: Is there bluing inside the scratch/cut? If so, I would think it's reblued. If you see a bit blank steel, it happend later and is not reblued. You may use your loupe.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've understood what you want to know. Hard to tell from your pics. The question for me is: Is there bluing inside the scratch/cut? If so, I would think it's reblued. If you see a bit blank steel, it happend later and is not reblued. You may use your loupe.
Dear Martin, Thank you very much for your expert response.

Perhaps it helps to explain, that it is not a scratch or cut but rather it is a very, very slight depression in an area of about 1/2 inch. There are no typical signs of scratches, also if it has very small spots of old oxidations in other parts of the slide that make me suspect that it is not re-bluing, the same as it keeps the aged white paint from both the crosshair and the upside.