Walther Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I just inherited my grandfather’s Walter PP. I want to understand the gun and have been doing some research. My father says his dad brought it home from WWll and the s/n seems to support the manufacturing date. The slide might have been replaced as it does not match the number on the frame. However the numbers are not that far off and both end in the letter “P”. There are no markings on the left side of the slide. The pistol is in great shape and I want to take great care of it. Any input is appreciated.

Thank you

·
Registered
3,101 Posts
Welcome aboard. One of the Walther experts on WWII and Pre-war pistols will be along shortly. ;)

·
Registered
315 Posts
I'm no expert, but looking at the serial number, late (no logo) slide and lack of inspection marks, I'm wondering if this was a cigarette gun, ie one made on demand for the occupying soldiers after the Walther plant was captured by GIs in March of 1945. Have it inspected to ensure it is safe to fire as those assembled for the capturing soldiers were not all proofed.

·
Registered
355 Posts
Looks like a late war pistol, apparently not proofed. I think the advice to have it inspected is sage advice, but I don't know who is qualified to inspect such a pistol. Possibly Earl? I'd either shoot it taking a chance or put it in my sock drawer.

Typically, cigarette guns are Mauser rifles. I've never heard of a cigarette pistol. After the capture of the Walther factory by GIs, guns on the assembly line were in various stages of completion (I've heard) and were put together in pieces by our GIs. Hence mixed up and sometimes non serial number matches.

Another possibility is it was repaired in the field by the Germans. Either way, a good trophy of that terrible war.

·
Registered
10,379 Posts